Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors comprises a non-executive chairman, seven non-executive directors and the Managing Director.

John Thwaites, Chair

John Twaites

John Thwaites is Chair of Melbourne Water.

Mr Thwaites is a Professorial Fellow at Monash University and Chair of ClimateWorks Australia and the Monash Sustainability Institute. He is Chair of the Australian Building Codes Board and the Peter Cullen Trust and is a director of the Green Building Council of Australia. He chairs the Brotherhood of St Lawrence Equity and Climate Change program.

Mr Thwaites is a Co-Chair of the Leadership Council of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network (“SDSN”) launched by the Secretary General of the United Nations to provide expert advice and support on the Sustainable Development Goals. In 2013, John was named as one of the 100 Global Sustainability Leaders by ABC Carbon Express.

Mr Thwaites was Deputy Premier of Victoria from 1999 until his retirement in 2007. During this period he was Minister for Health, Minister for Planning, Minister for Environment, Minister for Water, Minister for Victorian Communities and Victoria’s first Minister for Climate Change. In these portfolios he was responsible for major reforms in social policy, health, environment and water.

Prior to being elected to Parliament, he was a barrister and Mayor of South Melbourne. He has degrees in Law (Honours) and Science from Monash University. Mr Thwaites was appointed as Chair of Melbourne Water on 1 October, 2015.

Michael Wandmaker, Managing Director

Michael Wandmaker

Michael Wandmaker was appointed Managing Director on 22 September 2014.

Mr Wandmaker has extensive senior leadership experience across several industries, both in Australia and internationally. 

Mr Wandmaker was previously President of FT Services,CEO of Silcar Maintenance Services, Vice President at Siemens Canada Ltd, General Manager at Tyco Services and held various executive positions at Transfield Holdings Pty Ltd.  Prior to becoming Managing Director at Melbourne Water, Mr Wandmaker was Group President and Acting CEO of UGL Limited.   

Merran Kelsall, Director and Deputy Chair

Merran Kelsall

Merran Kelsall is an experienced independent Director who has considerable expertise in finance, audit, risk and compliance. She has served on many boards in the private and public sectors, including RACV Limited as Chairman, Auditing and Assurance Standards Board and Member, International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board and Financial Reporting Council.

Ms Kelsall is also Chair at Australian Health  Service AllianceLtd and was previously a Commissioner at Taxi Services Commission and Deputy at Victorian Regional Channels Authority. She was formerly a partner at BDO Chartered Accountants.

Ms Kelsall was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2015.  

Kathleen Bailey-Lord, Director

Kathleen Bailey-Lord

Kathleen Bailey-Lord is an experienced corporate senior executive and company director with 15 years of senior executive experience in Australasia and Asia in  banking (ANZ), technology (IBM) and professional services (law and accounting).

With deep experience in digital technology and disruptive change, Ms Bailey-Lord has led large businesses through complex transformational change.

Ms Bailey-Lord currently serves as a Non-Executive Director of QBE Insurance (Australia and International) where she chairs the Remuneration Committee.  She has served on the boards of the Australian Government Solicitor; Trinity College, University of Melbourne; Chief Executive Women and the Diversity Council of Australia.

Ms Bailey-Lord was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2015. 

Hugh Gleeson, Director

Hugh Gleeson

Hugh Gleeson is currently a director of Energy Queensland, Ausgrid, and GDI-Allgas. Mr Hugh has held positions of Director at Barwon Water from 2010 to 2015 and CEO at electricity and distribution businesses, United Energy and Multinet Gas for 12 years. 

Mr Gleeson is a founding member on the Board of the Energy Network Association, previously holding the positions of Deputy Chair and Chair. He has over 30 years’ experience in the utility sector.

Mr Gleeson was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2015. 

Robyn McLeod, Director

Robyn McLeod

Robyn McLeod has held the positions of Independent Commissioner for Water Security in South Australia, National Director of Water at KPMG, and Executive Director of Major Projects, Water with the Department of Sustainability and Environment, Victoria.

She was Chief of Staff to the Victorian Energy Resources and Ports Minister, and an Advisor to the Victorian Environment and Education Minister. Ms McLeod has previously worked in Higher Education to industry, Industrial Relations, and Secondary Teaching.

Robyn is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and completed the Senior Executive Fellows Program at The Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. Previous Board positions include as an inaugural Director of The Australian Centre for Social Innovation and Chair of this organisations Risk and Audit Committee.

Ms McLeod was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2015. 

Garry Smith, Director

Garry Smith

Garry Smith was appointed to the Board in October 2012. He is Chair of the Customer and Service Delivery Committee.

Mr Smith has extensive experience in the water sector and is a Director with DG Consulting, providing advice on water and natural resource management policy and strategy.  He has previously held a range of senior management roles in the rural water industry.  

Garry’s previous roles include membership of the Advisory Board for the National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training, Director of the eWater Co-operative Research Centre, member of the Water Accounting Standards Board and Director of Scope. 

Mr Smith was reappointed to the Board on 1 October, 2015. 

Russell Anderson, Director

Russel Anderson

Mr Russell Anderson was appointed as a Director of Western Region Water Corporate in 2007 and is also the Deputy Chairperson of the Loddon Mallee Waste and Resource Recovery Group.

Mr Anderson is currently Strategy, Governance and Risk Advisor at Australian Health Service Alliance Ltd and is also self-employed as a governance consultant to the water industry. Mr Anderson’s previous roles include Strategy, Risk and Corporate Governance Manager for Australian Air Express Pty Ltd and Chief Internal Auditor, Air New Zealand Group. Mr Anderson has a Bachelor of Commerce and a Graduate Diploma of Applied Corporate Governance.

Mr Anderson was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2017.

Fiona Rowland, Director

Fiona Rowland

Ms Fiona Rowland is an experienced corporate senior executive and company director in the areas of strategy, financial services, trusts and asset management with 15 years’ executive management and CEO experience at the Bennelong Group, National Australia Bank, Australia and New Zealand Banking Group, UBS AG, and UBS Wealth Management. She has been a member of numerous governance, risk, compliance and investment committees in the banking and philanthropic sectors.

Ms Rowland is currently appointed to the boards of Macquarie Life Limited, Commonwealth Private Limited , and St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research. In addition Ms Rowland serves as a Panel Member to the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Financial Services and Credit Panel. Ms Rowland holds a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Laws (Honors) and is admitted as a legal practitioner in Victoria. She is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Rowland was appointed to the Melbourne Water Board on 1 October, 2017.

Last updated:
3 July 2020